Graduation

Wow, I can not believe four years went by that quickly. It feels like a couple months ago I was unloading the car in Koin’s parking lot and meeting my first college roommate, Jarrod Cook. As mom and dad were pulling out of the parking lot, I knew mom didn’t say goodbye because she would start to cry. Now, I am heading back home and taking a job 5 minutes from my house. I will be getting married in September. Aren’t I too young and immature for all of this stuff. I am now beginning to realize that every day adults can feel as though they are not ready for the tasks they have been given. I used to think that mom, dad, and every other adult, always knew exactly what they were doing. I am now walking onto the stage of adulthood and seeing the uncertainty ahead of me. The only thing that keeps me from freaking out is the realization that I am confident in who I am and my potential. I know I can learn. I know I can figure things out as I go; I am intelligent and adaptive enough to make things work. I also have people surrounding me who love me and care for me; they will not let me fail. I am officially a graduate of the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. I posted my highest GPA ever this past semester. I worked very hard in my industry sponsored senior design course; it honestly felt like a part-time job while we were putting in 20 hours of work a week. I feel as though I have learned so much in my time at University. I also know that I have so much more to learn, and I look forward to that.

I made it, with help, of course

Some of the things I will miss most about college:

  • Koinonia was such a great brotherhood.
  • The Transportation Building was the best building on campus.
  • Opportunities to serve others.
  • Diversity of people.
  • Roommates.
  • Late Nights
  • College student mentality.
  • Sleeping in and skipping classes.
  • Breaks during the day with nothing to do.
  • Exploring and finding new things on campus.
  • Free printing and computer labs stocked with software.
  • Learning about cool stuff in the College of Engineering.
  • The Arc, for free
  • Legends
  • Really, extremely, cheap food
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

