Gotta Go

My running shoes; time to get them warmed up for the summer.

“Success isn’t how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started.”

It has been so very hot outside the last few days. I was fortunate enough to hit up a 4 mile run yesterday and almost passed out because of the heat and my lack of physical activity the past few months. It felt great. It had been several months since I last ran; seemed like a perfect day to break out and start again. I enjoy destination running. I picked out a place and had no idea how far it was. Turns out it was much longer than my original prediction. I was able to keep going because I knew where I was going. I had this goal in mind, this destination. I paced myself to the point where I was absolutely giving it everything I had, yet still achieved that goal.

The idea of pushing yourself through a tough run is symbolic of so many things in my life. It relates highly to all facets of life and the challenges each of us will face at some point or another. I figure I am just practicing for those moments.

Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.
— Confucius

I believe we learn and grow from the difficult things we go through. Challenging oneself in any form allows you to grow, mature, and experience some incredible  stuff. It makes you stronger.

Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors.
Try to be better than yourself.
–William Faulkner

Push yourself! Do something that is hard. A challenge makes you stronger and helps you accomplish great things. Without a challenge you are but lukewarm. This idea can be utilized in so many applications, it is hard to ignore. The first that comes to mind is using it in our Faith.

I read an article by George Konig

He is addressing the people of a city known for its wealth. But despite its financial prosperity, it was spiritually impoverished. He says in regards to the people: “I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked” (Revelation 3:15-17 NIV translation).

What’s frightening about this statement is that most people in this world who call themselves Christians are lukewarm. Yes we might go to church on Sundays, make an appearance, and think to ourselves, hey, I don’t sell drugs, I haven’t killed anybody, I never robbed a bank, I even give to charities. But think what Christ is saying here “I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.”

http://www.konig.org/wc2.htm

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

